LE TROU NORMANDE

By DEANNA FONG


Petit Français says “Can I tell you a joke?”

I say sure.

He says, “You know how we French make fun of Belgians?”

I don’t know, but I say yes anyway.

He says, “Okay. So what’s the difference between a Belgian woman and a pantouffle?”

“What’s a pantouffle?” I ask.

“It’s a… thing you put on your foots…”

“A Shoe?”

“No, but indoors.”

“Des chaussettes?”

“No. You know, for when you walking around the kitchen?”

“Slippers?”

“Yes. Sleepers. Pantouffles. Okay, so what’s the difference between a Belgian woman and a sleeper?”

“What?”

“You don’t know?”

“No.”

“There isn’t one.”

“…”

“Ha ha ha ha!”

LATER

I ask, “Why do the French make fun of Belgians so much?”

“Because they’re stupid.”

Leave a Reply

